Mameya – Numazu

30 06 2007

As I write I can still smell the aroma of freshly roasted coffee beans that has permeated my hair and clothes. The smokey smell draws rich memories of short a jaunt to Mameya in south Numazu.

Mameya coffee beans Numazu

This little shop is essential for the coffee connoisseur, in Numazu. Over 15 varieties of green beans rest in their hessian bags just waiting to be roasted on site. The owners of Mameya have sourced top quality beans from around the world.

Mameya Knick Knacks Numazu

All coffees are written in katakana and if you can’t read katakana then you can ask the friendly staff to read them out for you and point to the map above the beans for locations.

It is a novelty to just sit in Mameya and watch you coffee beans being roasted and then tray thrown to cool and clean the beans before being dropped in a bag ready for you to take home. The great thing is that you are provided with a cup of coffee while you wait.

Mameya - owner roasting coffee as we waited

If you can manage to take your eyes off the roasting process and shake off the intoxicating aroma, the yellow wood barn decor and original variety of coffee knick-knacks on sale (the knick-knack’s not the bench on sale *rolls eyes*) will keep you occupied and threaten to lighten you wallet a little more.

Mameya provided an excellent opportunity for you to experience the freshest coffee while developing a closer appreciation for this fine beverage.

Cheers

Scott Garbie.

Location: Mameya is on the south side of Numazu Station. With your back to the station turn right, west, and follow the road around. Cross the road at the underpass and continue up the street about 50m. Mameya will be on your right.MyMaps at MapBuilder.net

Mameya Coffee Roaster

English Menu: No but the staff can read out the coffee types or point to their location on the map. Don’t forget to tell them if you want a full (kanzen na yaku), medium (chukan na yaku) or light roast (karui na yaku).(please pardon my sloppyJapanese, this gets me by but if there is a better way to request this in Japanese send me a comment and I will change it with your thanks)

Contact: ph: 055-962-7500, website: http://mameya.boo.jp/

Hours: 10:30~19:00


Actions

Information

5 responses

22 04 2013
Nydia

Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog?
My blog site is in the very same niche as
yours and my visitors would genuinely benefit from some of the information you present here.
Please let me know if this alright with you.
Thanks!

23 04 2013
numazutraveler

Sure Mate.

3 07 2007
dragonlife

I actually buy my coffee at KALDI.
I love their “Rich Blend”!

1 07 2007
numazutraveler

Yes there are a few good coffee merchants in Shizuoka. Numazu is certainly the underdog in this regard but I must say that the quality of coffee in Mameya is not too bad.
I cannot remember the name of my favorite coffee merchant in Shizuoka but they are on the north side of the station about 500 NE. They have a great range of roasted and green beans and a nice little roadside balcony setup for a cup.
I know the directions are a little vague but do you happen to know the place?
I will have to check it out again next time I am down there.
Cheers
Scott

1 07 2007
dragonlife

What wouldn’t you give for decent coffee!
I’m sure a lot of people will be thankful in your city for introducing a good shop!
Here in Shizuoka we are lucky as there is more competition!
Cheers,
Robert-Gilles

Leave a Reply

