My Ring Bicycle Shop – Numazu

11 09 2007

Although I am a big fan of practicing my Japanese in some real life scenarios, sometimes it’s just easier to find someone who speaks a little English to help you out. This is what happened to me on the weekend. After spending a good half hour rummaging through my Japanese-English dictionary trying to figure out how to explain what was wrong with my bicycle, I nervously headed up the road to speak to the guy at the bike shop.

My Ring - Numazu

Upon arrival at the bike shop I was so flustered that all I could manage to mumble was a few Japanese words for ‘grinding’, ‘broken’ and possibly ‘mother’ and the odd random ‘no’, ‘ni’, ‘wa’ and ‘ga’s’ put in to make it sound like I was at least souping up a sentence (albeit probably ultimately derogatory). To my surprise the gentleman by the counter responded to me in superb English and had the graciousness to keep a straight face at my failed attempts at Japanese.

My Ring bike parts

Talking to Yuji Maeda from My Ring bike shop was a pleasure. Yuji’s modern looking shop holds a surprising 80 year history of bicycle sales and repairs in Numazu, that all began with his grandfather.

After a long career in electrical engineering, which took him all over the world, Yuji decided on a sea change and a return to his home town and a little less stress. It was in fact, Yuji’s previous career that helped him on his was to learning English. Yuji spent considerable time in the USA and Australia refining his English. He even learnt a little German from his time working in Germany.

My Ring -Numazu Bikes

Now with My Ring, the new evolution of this family business, Yuji is bringing quality cycling products and services to Numazu Hon-Cho area. The My Ring range stretches from starter adult and children’s bicycles (around 24,000yen for an adult Japanese standard ‘granny’ bike) to top range European mountain bike and racer brands. My Ring also offers affordable repairs service.

My Ring- Yuji working on my bike

One of the extra services that came in handy for me when my family came from Australia to visit was My Ring’s small fleet of standard rental bikes. As of this date, bikes can be rented at 300yen per hour of 1,500 for the whole day. Very reasonable.

The quality of care and friendly English speaking service that Yujis’ My Ring offers will keep me a loyal customer during my time here in Numazu.

Website: www.myring.jp

Directions: My Ring is on the south side of Numazu Station, approximately 500m south following the underpass road. For an accurate map of the location please click the my map button here. MyMaps at MapBuilder.net

.


Actions

Information

15 responses

3 01 2012
L’ascension du Mont Fuji, à ma façon ! | On the road again

[…] un vélo. Après avoir déposé mes affaires à l’hôtel je file donc directement chez “my ring bicycle shop“, une boutique que j’ai découverte grâce au blog the Numazu traveler tenu par expat […]

31 08 2011
jfgout

No worries Scott, I was just surprised to see that you found my blog. I was about to write a comment here to give you the address anyways. BTW, say hi to the guy from My Ring Bicycle (I forgot his name) for me if you see him 🙂

28 08 2011
L’ascension du Mont Fuji, à ma façon ! | surlarouteagain

[…] un vélo. Après avoir déposé mes affaires à l’hôtel je file donc directement chez “my ring bycicle shop“, une boutique que j’ai découverte grâce au blog the Numazu traveler tenu par expat […]

22 08 2011
Climbing Mount Fuji in my very own way. | surlarouteagain

[…] of the city but I’m obsessed with my goal for the day: find a bike for rent. Thanks to a blog by an Australian guy living in Numazu, I know that there is a bike shop next to my hotel and that the owner speaks […]

27 08 2011
numazutraveler

Hey,

Great read. I’m glad you managed to rent a bike and see a little bit of Numazu.

28 08 2011
jfgout

Wait, how did you find about my blog before I started to advertise for it ? (I wanted to wait the authorization from my friend who took most of the pictures) Anyways, it was a lot of fun, and you should know that your blog played a decisive role in building this project. Have fun in Numazu.

28 08 2011
numazutraveler

It appeared on my ‘pingback’ when you linked my page. Sorry if I have messed things up for you.

15 07 2011
Jean-François Gout

Hi Scott,

I tried to contact the ‘My Ring Bicycle shop’ but never eared back from them. I’m leaving next week and starting to be a little bit stressed by this. In case I can’t rent a bike (I think it should be ok, but just in case), do you know anyone (maybe you ?) who would be willing to rent me his own personal bike for 24 hours ? I would be OK with paying the same price than a bike rental trough this shop. Oh, and I love bikes so you can be sure I will take care of it ! Thank you for your help.

Cheers,

Jeff

19 07 2011
numazutraveler

Hi Jeff,

Sorry it has taken so long to reply. I’m sorry you could not get through to My Ring. I really don’t know anyone who would be willing to rent their bike out at the moment. Might I suggest checking out a second hand shop and then selling it back to them when you are done. You can find a link to some second hand shops here Best of luck.

Scott

1 07 2011
Jean-François Gout

Hi Scott,

Thanks so much for your help. I sent them a message using the link you provided… hope this will work (I’m so exited about this project to climb Mt Fuji, starting from the sea level on a bike !!!).
Cheers,

Jeff

1 07 2011
numazutraveler

Best of luck mate.

You have actually inspired me to do a trip through the forests around the base of Fuji in September.

Cheers,

Scott Donald

18 06 2011
Jean-François Gout

Dear Scott, first of all: congratulations for this blog, it’s a gold mine of informations for anyone who is planning a trip to Numazu. I have the intention to climb Mont Fuji this summer by the Gotemba trail but I would love to rally the Gotemba 5th station on a bike, starting from Numazu. The “My ring bicycle shop” seems to be the perfect place for me to rent a bike (since I don’t speek Japaneese). However, I would like to make sure they can rent the kind of bike I’m looking for and if they can rent it for ~24hours. Do you know if they have an e-mail address that I could use to contact them ? Thanks in advance for your answer.
Cheers,

Jeff

22 06 2011
numazutraveler

Hi Jeff,

That sounds like a great plan for your journey up Mt Fuji. There are some excellent trails around the base of Fuji that can get you up to Gotemba 5th Station.

My Ring has a contact form that they use only. Here is the link http://www.myring.jp/questionform.htm . The page translates well through Google translate. . I believe that on the form there is not section for international. I would suggest clicking Shizuoka and putting “International” in brackets before your contact details.
Oh and, be kind 😉 , keep the request in simple English.

Cheers,

Scott

22 06 2011
numazutraveler

One last thing. I just found their bike rental form where you can make an enquiry on their site here .

11 12 2008
Nat

I have just had the pleasure of dealing with Yuji-san myself. I need some repairs done to my bike which are going to take a few days, so he offered me the use of one of his bikes while mine is out of action. No questions, no scrutiny of my passport, no deposit required. Highly recommended!

Leave a comment